Ranting Goddess
2 min readFeb 14, 2023

--

Why I write poetry?

Photo by Ksenia Makagonova on Unsplash

Writing is cathartic. I’m at one with myself. It’s peaceful, and it takes me to different places. Places that ordinarily would not have explored. I used to write a lot many years ago and then, with being married and having children, it stopped. It took me many years before I started writing poetry and prose again. It was a friend who inspired me to write a few years ago. I am so grateful for his words of encouragement and I wouldn’t be writing today if it wasn’t for his kind words. Thank you. You know who you are.

My first piece of writing was a book which I still have not completed yet, but eventually will finish it. However, I went onto poetry writing and found it cathartic and healing. I had forgotten how valuable this could be.
It was an outlet for my emotions, passions, appetite for love and life.
Writing poetry sets me free.
I would encourage everybody to write even it’s just a few lines to sit down, go to a different world and place and be yourself. For me, it’s a healing, powerful and an uplifting experience.
It’s your best friend and it will never let you down and it will listen to your voice and your voice will be listened too.

I also love reading poetry. I love to listen and hear different words of other people’s emotions, and journeys in life. Every poem has a message in it and…

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.