Ranting Goddess
3 min readMar 6, 2024

--

Unveiling My Literary Odyssey: From Scriptwriter to Novelist

Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

Hello, fellow writers in the realm of creativity! Today, I stand before you, having just completed my inaugural literary endeavour a book that has been three years in the making. The journey has been nothing short of a rollercoaster, and I’m here to spill the ink on why it took me this long and the lessons I’ve learned along the way.

To set the stage, let me share a bit about my writing background. I’ve been involved in the world of scripts for the past two decades, crafting stories for screens big and small. Armed with this experience, I naively assumed that transitioning to the realm of novels would be a mere stroll in the park. Oh, how wrong I was!

The initial spark for my book came from an idea that promised an easy transition from scriptwriter to book writer. Little did I know that transforming that spark into a full-fledged novel would be an odyssey, demanding more patience and resilience than I could fathom. The plot and scenes flowed effortlessly, but oh, the real challenge awaited me the descriptive narrative.

As a seasoned scriptwriter, I had honed the art of brevity, where every word counts. Transitioning to the expansive world of novelistic description proved to be my Achilles’ heel. While I’ve managed to smooth out some rough edges, echoes of my scriptwriting roots still linger…

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.