Ranting Goddess
2 min readJan 16, 2023

--

The Storm

Driving through the winding roads.
The sky a translucent white
Sun peeping through clouds so bright.
Moving clouds hiding beams of angel light.
Suddenly a gust of wind rain and sleet.
Surprised us in our warm cosy moving retreat.
The noise of slashing rain hitting the sides of cosy seats like waves crashing down on a sinking ship echoes of voices abandon ship.

Alarmed I feared steering the wheel amongst
Wind, rain and sleet.

Hard to concentrate
now, fear a freak storm rising to the bait a heart beating with hate.

Trees tangled wildly dancing in a frenzy state,
The sky turned to black
Lightning flashes seconds past we hear the crack
My heart missed a beat.
I couldn’t see out ......
awash with spray of wind rain and sleet wishing it would pass.

Alas an eerie calm bathes the land revealing an expanse of clear blue sky at last.

The storm has past.

Relief to see
a fleeting glance
home sweet home far in the distance.
I can breath again relax in my seat.
Hope we don’t repeat a…

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.