Ranting Goddess
1 min readJan 4, 2023

Teaching. A Vocation.

I went back teaching tonight after the break.
I have been teaching children and young adults for many years and I love it.
To be honest, I feel privileged to be able to teach skills that my students enjoy and hopefully give them confidence and skills to take them through life whatever they choose to do.
Tonight we are going to work towards their acting exam. I enter them for the Trinity Guildhall exams in speech/drama and solo acting.
The exams help them in self development, awareness, social skills and communication etc 
Also, in the higher grades the students are able to ascertain UCAS points which help them gain entry to university, which is really useful. 
We are also going to do some improvisation which they really enjoy and always ends the lesson on a high.
If the child leaves happy, then I can relax and feel that the lesson was worthwhile.
People ask me why I teach.
My answer is if I can help a child in any way at all, how large or small then I am helping them in some way. Most of the time, you see them grow in confidence and that is really lovely to see. 
Some of the students have gone on and have had successful careers in the industry and I could not be prouder of them.
Others hopefully have gained something! I would like to think I have helped them in some way..

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.