Ranting Goddess
2 min readFeb 26, 2023

--

Stressful Phone Calls

Photo by Quino Al on Unsplash

You know when you have to make a phone call back to somebody when they have probably phoned you about 3 times, because they need an answer right now!
I don’t know about you, but my heart just sinks. You just do not want to ring them.

Every bone in your body tells you that this is going to be a bad phone call, but if you don’t get on and do it, they are just going to hassle you more and more and more, which is a pain in the a…
I had one of these yesterday.

I debated and rehearsed everything for at least three hours prior, which is a complete waste of energy, time resource and quite frankly madness. I drive everybody absolutely mad. I ring two or three people to gather up their opinions, pace the room, and upset the poor dogs.

Then I stare at my phone.

A slight exaggeration maybe, but it feels like this.

In the end, my husband will rescue me from my internal commotion and reason it out with me step by step.

I just wanted to leave it another day, I said, but he said no because by the time I wake up, if I was lucky enough to get any sleep, I would just be an exhausted wreck.

So eventually, reluctantly
after debating, pacing, upsetting myself, I finally picked up the phone. It wasn’t as bad as I expected, but still had a cup of tea after the call.

Does anyone else get like this or just me?

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.