One of my students read my poem, which made me cry.

Ranting Goddess
2 min readMar 2, 2023
Photo by Ashim D’Silva on Unsplash

A proud but emotional moment

At this time of year, we are preparing the students for their Trinity Guildhall exams, in which they are prepared and entered for speech, drama and acting exams. They are prepared to read prose, verse, Shakespeare, acting and monologue pieces. These exams are very valuable to the children in the fact that they:-

1. Encourage self-discipline and focus
2. Develops communication skills
3. Improves public speaking
4. Enhances confidence
5. Allows for self-expression

A couple of weeks ago, I gave one of my students a poem called The Storm.

I didn’t tell her that I had written it.
In class last night, she read it and delivered the poem beautifully. I could feel myself welling up, and tears began to flow. She managed to get the intensity of the situation. She captured the emotions that poured through me at the time.

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.