Ranting Goddess
2 min readJan 17, 2023

--

My husband never read my work until medium!

I felt really happy yesterday. Yes, something happened that was unexpected but made me feel thrilled.

My husband read one of my poems for the first time. By the way, we have been married for nearly thirty years, so this really is special. He always said he wasn’t into poems. Never really understood them.

He just announced “By the way I like your poem”
It really took me back. Nearly fell off my stool. After I got my breath and got over the shock. (Little exaggeration here!)
I asked him where did he see it?
Casually,
“It just came up on one of my feeds.”

I post them on twitter and Facebook.

I was so surprised I asked him again.
Then I said, and this is typical of me, but you never read my poetry. Why now?

He repeated, “well it came up in my feed.”
I looked at him.
“It was The Storm”.
Looked at him

”I knew it was going to be about the storm we were in the other day, so I read it.”

Looked at him again. Waiting!

“Yes, it was good. You described it as it was”.

I wanted him to say more, but it’s a start. “Sometimes it’s like getting blood out of a stone.”
But these few words meant a lot.
In fact, it brightened my day so much I think I made him a few more cups of tea than usual.
By the way, we like our tea.

I have to say if it wasn’t for medium this would not have happened so once again I have this platform to thank or it might have been another thirty years!

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.