Ranting Goddess
3 min readJan 18, 2023

--

Film making solo plus cameraman part 2

Pulling a film together

Script
The script to me is everything. You need a script that has pace, drama and a captivating storyline that will keep your viewers watching right to the end. If you have these qualities, then you have a film.

For this to happen for me I write it and then it goes to other script writers and editors for them to make their notes and to give a critique. Unfortunately you need to get used to criticism. It is the only way you will grow and learn your art in this industry. (Not for the fainted hearted)
I swear a bit and mutter under my breath, but know it is for the good of everyone involved.

However don’t always go with their advice, but think it through carefully to see if their opinions are valid. They sometimes do not understand scenes the way you see them and interpret them differently, so common sense has to prevail.

Once this is in place, then I pull the actors together.

Rehearsals

We go through an audition process, but that’s for another blog on a different day

My last film we shot during Covid, so we knew it was going to be complex and have challenges we were going to face. From the outset, we had to think differently about every aspect.

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.