Ranting Goddess
3 min readFeb 13, 2023

--

Documentary Filmaking

Documentary Filmmaker in a “Nutshell”

Recently my husband has a made a documentary All Rivers Great and Small. It is going to be released on Amazon Prime shortly.
This is a brief explanation of how he went about making this documentary.

Idea
You need to think of an idea. It needs to be a subject you are passionate about.
Once you have the idea, then I would suggest you research the topic. You need to check that the idea you have has not been produced previously.
Research the name of your production before submitting it to a commissioner.

Putting your idea into practise.

Once you have the materials, locations and crew, you need to piece it to together.
Casting call sheet (see my casting call sheet article)is helpful but not essential if you are a one-man crew.

Filming
Film your footage,
Edit material , add your interviews and any other essential media…

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.