Ranting Goddess
1 min readNov 10, 2023

--

Blocking a scene

Authors own

My new actors ask me what does blocking a scene mean? Blocking a scene from a director’s point of view is to instruct the actors on where to move onset. This includes positioning timing and spatial relationships between the actors and props.
In this particular scene, (picture above, excerpt below)we decided to make it easy for the actors to eat the sandwiches at the end so we didn’t run into any continuity problems in the edit. "Trust me it would have been a nightmare". The beginning was just a simple walk on from the left and sit down next to the actor in this case he’s called Bruce. So the edit flowed nicely into sittng down. Very important that she held her sandwich box in the right hand in every take. The more experience actors have on set the continuity improves but even the best professional actors get this process wrong. Any questions please ask.

https://youtu.be/6nmWYZ1NUcY?si=eeY1d-kIY67mrw2A

If you are interested in our series please subscribe and share 🙏❤

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.