Ranting Goddess
2 min readFeb 3, 2023

--

A Bridge too Far

Book cover A Bridge too Far by Cornelius Ryan

I woke up this morning and was thinking of writing a poem titled A Bridge too Far.
So before commencing, I decided just to look up what it meant.
I didn’t know why the phrase came about, so was curious to find out more.

However, I knew it meant it was just out of the reach of somebody’s will to succeed.

To my surprise, and maybe I was a little ignorant because when I read about it, it all made complete sense.

First and foremost, there was a book I found with the same title.
Here is what it said on google.

A Bridge Too Far (1974) by Cornelius Ryan gives an account of Operation Market Garden, a failed Allied attempt to break through German lines at Arnhem by taking a series of bridges in the occupied Netherlands during World War II.

Ryan named his book after a comment attributed to Lieutenant General Frederick Browning before the operation, who reportedly said to Field Marshal Bernard Montgomery, “I think we may be going a bridge too far.” But Antony Beevor disputes this, saying that Browning had supported the operation, especially because of receiving more resources. Secondly, he did not appear to have encountered Montgomery that day.

Drawing on a wide variety of sources, Ryan documented his account of the 1944 battle…

--

--

Ranting Goddess

Definitely like a rant and chant but not a goddess just in my dreams. Take me as I am. No airs or graces with me. Yorkshire Poet, Acting coach, Director.